Northeast Regional Climate Center

Data Center Description
The Northeast Regional Climate Center (NRCC) is located in the
Department of Earth and Atmospheric Sciences at Cornell
University. It serves the 12-state region that includes:
Connecticut, Delaware, Massachusetts, Maryland, Maine, New
Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island,
Vermont, and West Virginia. Major funding is provided by a grant
from the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. The
Centers staff works cooperatively with the National Climatic
Data Center, state climate offices and other interested
scientists in the Northeast to acquire and disseminate accurate,
up-to-date climate data and information.

The mission of the Northeast Regional Climate Center is to
facilitate and enhance the collection, dissemination and use of
climate data as well as to monitor and assess climatic
conditions and impacts in the twelve-state, northeastern region
of the United States. Its activities are intended to further the
economic efficiency and general welfare of public and private
institutions and individuals in the region.

Implementing this mission involves three programmatic objectives:

1. Development and maintenance of regional climatic databases

2. Dissemination of information and climate services

3. Performance of applied climate research


[Summary provided by the NRCC]