Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Data Center Description
The Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) was established
in 1988 by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and the United
Nations Environment Programme (UNEP) to assess the available
scientific, technical, and socio-economic information in the field of
climate change.
The IPCC is organised into three working groups: Working Group I
concentrates on the climate system, Working Group II on impacts and
response options, and Working Group III on economic and social
The IPCC released its Second Assessment Report in 1995 and
continues to produce Technical Papers and develop methodologies
(e.g. national greenhouse gas inventories) for use by Parties to the
Climate Change Convention. The Third Assessment Report will be
completed around the year 2000.
The IPCC Secretariat can be contacted at:
World Meteorogical Organization Building
41 Av. Giuseppe-Motta, Case postale No. 2300
1211 Geneva 2, Switzerland
Fax: (+41 22) 733 1270
IPCC Home Page:
IPCC Data Distribution Center:
[Summary Adapted from the IPCC Home Page]