South African National Space Agency (SANSA) Space Science, Hermanus Magnetic Observatory, South Africa

Data Center Description
[Source: Hermanus Magnetic Observatory, ]

The establishment of a national space agency for South Africa was approved by Cabinet in July 2006 and that over the past three years the Government concluded this process. Pursuant to the South African National Space Agency Act, No. 36 of 2008, (SANSA) is currently being established as a public entity with independent, impartial and objective decision-making authority to serve local and international stakeholders and coordinate the country?s space-related initiatives.

On 1 April 2011, the Hermanus Magnetic Observatory (HMO) changed its name to SANSA Space Science and migrated from the National Research Foundation (NRF) to SANSA.

The facility is located in Hermanus and functions as an active participant in the worldwide network of magnetic observatories (INTERMAGNET), which monitor and model variations of the Earth?s magnetic field. SANSA Space Science is also one of thirteen Regional Warning Centres globally that forms part of the ISES (International Space Environment Service) Regional Warning Centre network. Specifically, SANSA Space Science is appointed as the Regional Warning Centre for Africa.

Data Center URL