Bureau of Meteorology, Australia

Data Center Description
The Commonwealth Bureau of Meteorologywas established under the
Meteorology Act of 1906 by formally bringing together the
individual colonial/State Meteorological Services that had
existed prior to that time. It commenced operation as a
Commonwealth agency on 1 January 1908. Following the repeal of
the Meteorology Act of 1906, the Bureau was formally
reestablished, under the charge of the Director of Meteorology,
by the Meteorology Act of 1955. This act provides the explicit
legal basis and the basic charter for its operation. It is
established by the Act as a primarily public interest agency but
with the power to make charges for specialised services to
individual users and user groups.

The Bureau currently operates as an Executive Agency within the
Environment and Heritage Portfolio.

The Bureau's Head Office in Melbourne serves as both an
administrative and operational headquarters. It provides
overall national startegic planning, management and coordination
of the Burea's integrated observations, telecommunications and
computing infrastructure and its weather, climate and
hydrological services. It also includes the National Climate
Centre, the Bureau of Meteorology Training Centre and the Bureau
of Meteorology Research Centre.

Regional Offices are located in each State capital and in
Darwin. Each Regional Office includes a Regional Forecasting
Centre and a Flood Warning Centre, and the Perth, Darwin and
Brisbane offices also house Tropical Cyclone Warning Centres.
The Darwin office also serves as the Volcanic Ash Advisory
Centre. These offices are responsible for all the operational
and service activities in the State or Territory concerned.

The Bureau maintains a network of field offices across the
Australian continent, on neighboring islands and in Antarctica,
as well as national networks of some 500 paid cooperative
observers and approximately 6000 voluntary rainfall observers.

Website: http://www.bom.gov.au/

[Summary provided by the Commonwealth Bureau of Meteorology]