West Coast and Alaska Tsunami Warning Center, Alaska Region Headquarters, National Weather Service, NOAA, U.S. Department of Commerce

Data Center Description
West Coast & Alaska Tsunami Warning Center provides information on most recent
tsunamis (via email subscription service), how to prepare for a tsunami, and
background information on tsunamis and earthquakes.

To accomplish its mission of providing accurate and timely tsunami bulletins to
coastal populations of California, Oregon, Washington, British Columbia, ... and
Alaska, the West Coast/Alaska Tsunami Warning Center (WC/ATWC) detects,
locates, sizes, and analyzes earthquakes throughout the Pacific basin.
Earthquakes that activate the WC/ATWC alarm system initiate an earthquake and
tsunami investigation which includes the following four basic steps: automatic
locating and sizing the earthquake; earthquake analysis, review, and
modification by the duty scientist if necessary; obtaining sea level data from
water level sites throughout the Pacific basin to verify the existence of a
tsunami and to calibrate models; and disseminating information to appropriate
emergency management officials.

Summary provided by http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/

Data Center URL
URL: http://wcatwc.arh.noaa.gov/